MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE PORT OF EPHRATA COMMISSIONERS January 4, 2021

The Board of Commissioners for the Port District No. 9 of Grant County met in regular session on January 4, 2021 Via Zoom. Commissioner Shelly Rivard Detrick called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m.

PRESENT: Commissioners: (Via Zoom) Shelly Rivard Detrick, Karen Moore and George Sisson. Staff: Mike Wren, Executive Director; Kurt Oxos, Operations and Maintenance Supervisor; Charla Bomstad, Financial Officer. Guests: Abbi Russell and Lisa Parks; Maul Foster & Alongi.

MINUTES: MOTION CARRIED unanimously to approve the minutes of the regular meeting of December 21, 2020 (M/S: George Sisson / Karen Moore).

VOUCHERS: The following Vouchers/Warrants were approved for payment. Airport Fund: Payroll Warrant #17846 - 17854 Totaling \$13,013.84 Vouchers # 17685, 17855 - 17859 Totaling \$21,730.96

MOTION CARRIED unanimously to authorize payment of above Vouchers/Warrants (M/S Karen Moore / George Sisson).

OLD BUSINESS:

<u>Executive Director Search Presentation:</u> Abbi Russell and Lisa Parks gave us an overview of the team that will be representing The Port of Ephrata in our search for a new Executive Director, as well as an overview of what the timeline and process will look like. The primary emphasis at this point is to establish a solid job description and desirable leadership traits. They asked that the commissioners and staff be thinking about those things in preparation for discussion.

<u>Dallas Hintz Land Purchase Inquiry</u>: Dallas was ready to present his proposal to the commissioners but due to the COVID-19 restrictions with respect to in person meetings being prohibited until the 11th, it has been pushed out to the Jan 19th meeting.

<u>Airport Master Plan</u>: The Master Plan is finished and the commissioners will meet via phone on Jan 6^{th} to approve it.

NEW BUSINESS:

<u>Commission Officer Selection for 2021</u>: The nomination of officers for 2021 are as follows: Karen Moore as President, George Sisson as Vice-President, and Shelly Rivard Detrick as Secretary. MOTION CARRIED unanimously to elect Karen Moore as President, George Sisson as Vice-President, and Shelly Rivard Detrick as Secretary (M/S Karen Moore / George Sisson).

PUBLIC/TENANT INPUT: NONE

OPERATIONS and MAINTENANCE:

010421 Meeting Minutes

<u>Basket for forklift</u>: Work is continuing on the construction basket. It is a ground up process that requires a lot of fitment and welding.

<u>First snow:</u> We plowed the port roads and parking lots after the approximate 4" of snow on December 30th

<u>Battery replacement:</u> We had to replace the three batteries on the International snow plow. The batteries we replaced were from 2008

<u>Tractor:</u> The new to us tractor should arrive sometime in January. The seller has had to wait until after the holidays to see what he can arrange.

FROM THE OFFICE:

- a. <u>Travel & Meetings</u>:
 - a) <u>Special Meeting for Master Plan Approval:</u> Jan 6th at 4pm
- b. <u>Next Regular Meeting</u>: Jan 19 (Tues) Karen may not be able to attend this meeting.
- c. <u>IDC Meeting:</u> Jan 19 after the regular commission meeting.

COMMISSIONER INPUT:

Director Transition Update: Nothing further to add

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business to conduct, Commissioner Karen Moore declared the meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Karen Moore, President

George Sisson, Vice President

Shelly Rivard Detrick, Secretary

ATTEST:

Michael G. Wren

2021

010421 Meeting Minutes