MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE PORT OF EPHRATA COMMISSIONERS November 13, 2023

The Board of Commissioners for the Port District No. 9 of Grant County met in regular session on November 13, 2023 in the Port conference room. Commissioner Shelly Rivard Detrick called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

PRESENT: Commissioners: Shelly Rivard Detrick, Nicholas Moore and Mary M. Rathbone; Staff: David Lanman, Executive Director; Charla Bomstad, Finance Officer; Guests: Dave Maxwell and Sid Wiggs, CAP.

MINUTES: MOTION CARRIED unanimously to approve the minutes of the regular meeting on November 6, 2023 (M/S: Nicholas Moore / Mary M. Rathbone).

OLD BUSINESS:

Eric Tannler Employment Agreement: This was deferred to the executive session.

<u>MDJ Adjusted Draft Lease Agreement:</u> The commissioners would like the crane inspection wording clarified so that the annual inspection is completed by a certified inspector chosen by the Port and then invoiced to MDJ. This was deferred until Seth Woolson, our legal counsel can look it over.

<u>Trout Lake Farm/Amway Bldg. 1/Ground Lease Review:</u> This was deferred until the next meeting.

Stoneway Electric Bldg. 1 Lease Extension Update: This was deferred until the next meeting.

<u>CIAW/Chubb – Property/Liability Insurance Renewal:</u> We are working with Stacy Lyon to try and get our premiums down. Premiums are based upon our budgeted expenses and any expense that is strictly Airport related or a special project is not used in determining our premium.

NEW BUSINESS:

<u>NorthSky Communications Lease Renewal Drafts re: Bldgs. 305 & 308:</u> The commissioners ask that Dave verify with Seth the use of the word "Conditional" in the renewal section. This was deferred until the next meeting.

PUBLIC/TENANT INPUT: Dave Maxwell stated that they has another good training weekend with around 70 individuals. He also introduced James Wiggs who is their new project manager. The commissioners welcome and thank him for attending.

OPERATIONS and MAINTENANCE: NONE

FINANCIAL UPDATE: NONE

FROM THE OFFICE: NONE

111323 Meeting Minutes

ADJOURN TO EXECUTIVE SESSION: Commissioner Shelly Rivard Detrick adjourned the regular meeting at 4:30 p.m. to executive session for approximately 30 for the purpose of reviewing the performance of a public employee.

RECONVENE FROM EXECUTIVE SESSION: Commissioner Shelly Rivard Detrick reconvened to regular meeting at 5:07 p.m.

The commissioners want the employment agreement for Eric Tannler reworded to an offer of employment and then have our legal counsel write up the contract for the CDL training that the Port will provide with a timeline for when the training must be completed and a payback option if he leaves the Port's employment before the set amount of time.

The commissioners also want Kurt and Gordy to obtain their hazmat endorsements to the CDLs they currently hold. An incentive amount was discussed and will be addressed again later.

The commissioners set the new wage/salary amounts for 2024 to be as follows:

Kurt's salary will be \$75,090.00. Gordy's salary will be \$63,460.80. Charla's hourly wage will be \$30.00. Eric's hourly wage will be \$24.04 with an increase to \$25.48 once he has obtained his CDL with endorsements.

MOTION CARRIED unanimously to approve setting the 2024 salary/wages to the abovementioned amounts (M/S: Nicholas Moore / Mary M. Rathbone).

TRAVEL AND MEETINGS:

- a. <u>Next Regular Meeting:</u> Nov 20
- b. <u>Travel & Meetings</u>:
 - a. GCEDC All Ports Meeting, Nov 17th Port of Moses Lake Fishbowl 9:00am 1:00pm
 - B. Revitalize Ephrata Committee Meeting, Dec 1st Port of Ephrata Conference Room 11:30am – 1:30pm
 - c. WPPA New Commissioner Seminar, Dec 5th-6th, Hilton, Vancouver, WA
 - d. WPPA Annual Meeting, Dec 6th-8th, Hilton, Vancouver, WA
 - e. Aviation Caucus Dec 13th 8:30 am Boeing Renton Field Dave will attend this meeting.

COMMISSIONER INPUT: NONE

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business to conduct, Commissioner Shelly Rivard Detrick declared the meeting adjourned at 6: 13 p.m.

Shelly Rivard Detrick, President

Nicholas Moore, Vice President

Mary M. Rathbone, Secretary

_2023

ATTEST: _____

David Lanman – Executive Director