MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE PORT OF EPHRATA COMMISSIONERS January 2nd, 2024

The Board of Commissioners for the Port District No. 9 of Grant County met in regular session on January 2nd, 2024, in the Port conference room. Commissioner Shelly Rivard Detrick called the meeting to order at 4:03 p.m.

PRESENT: Commissioners: Shelly Rivard Detrick, Nicholas Moore and Mary M. Rathbone; Staff: David Lanman, Executive Director; Kurt Oxos, Operations and Maintenance Supervisor; Charla Bomstad, Finance Officer; Guests: Ila Rathbone and Simon Rathbone.

MINUTES: MOTION CARRIED unanimously to approve the minutes of the regular meeting on December 18, 2023 (M/S: Mary M. Rathbone / Nicholas Moore).

VOUCHERS: The following Vouchers/Warrants were approved for payment.

Airport Fund: Payroll Warrant #19085 - 19094 Totaling \$18,536.48

Vouchers # 19095 - 19096 Totaling \$6,588.07

MOTION CARRIED unanimously to authorize payment of above Vouchers/Warrants (M/S Nicholas Moore / Mary M. Rathbone).

OLD BUSINESS: NONE

NEW BUSINESS:

Commission Officer Selections for 2024: The nomination of officers for 2024 are as follows: Mary nominated Nicholas Moore as President, Nick nominated Shelly Rivard Detrick as Secretary and Shelly nominated Mary M Rathbone as Vice-President. MOTION CARRIED unanimously to elect Nicholas Moore as President, Mary M. Rathbone as Vice-President, and Shelly Rivard Detrick as Secretary (M/S: Mary M. Rathbone / Nicholas Moore).

<u>Director's Report – 2024 Outlook:</u> Dave updated the commissioners on all the projects that we have going. <u>Jet-A Tank installation:</u> we are at the RFP phase with regard to securing a contractor to install the base of the tank.

<u>New T-Hangars:</u> We now need to install a fire hydrant near the new site at an estimated cost of \$250,000. We can apply for these additional funds and add them to our existing CARB loan. We are in the process of getting the permit needed from the City.

<u>Bldg. 405:</u> Dave is talking to several jet management companies to try and get a set date that they can move into the hangar.

BNSF Site Certification and Rail/Industrial Development Project: Dave has submitted the initial application to be considered for a transmodal site certification. If we are accepted, then this will greatly open our port to companies looking to locate to a certified site. BNSF is looking to pick the site by November with funds paid out in early 2025.

The FAA has approved the use of hangar 734 as a stopgap location for Stoneway and VECA when Trout Lake Farm moves into building 1. Dave is working closely with Stoneway and VECA to try and get the extra

warehouse buildings that they need. This will also open up the warehouse spaces along the rails for future development of the transmodal facility.

The commissioners would like Dave to get them more information on what exactly the BNSF is looking for in a certified site location.

PUBLIC/TENANT INPUT: NONE

OPERATIONS and MAINTENANCE:

<u>Pilot Room 405:</u> Work has continued at hangar #405. The drywall was repaired and textured. Windows were trimmed out with drywall. Painting the walls and trim is taking place and will take the rest of the week to complete.

<u>Pit Cover #405:</u> The boards that cover an abandoned electrical vault in the floor were split and loose were replaced. We made a sturdy lid out of plywood and dimensional lumber measuring 67 inches long by 30 inches wide.

FINANCIAL UPDATE: NONE

FROM THE OFFICE:

<u>Commissioner Per Diem Increase 2024:</u> Per the Washington State Office of Financial Management, special purpose district commissioners receive an increase in pay every five years. Per RCW 53.12.260 Port District commissioners shall receive a per day amount of \$161.00 starting January 2024.

TRAVEL AND MEETINGS:

The commissioners move to cancel next Monday's meeting, January 8th (M/S Nicholas Moore / Shelly Rivard Detrick). They would like to schedule an executive session for the January 22nd meeting.

- a. Next Regular Meeting: Tuesday, January 16th.
- b. Travel & Meetings:

COMMISSIONER INPUT: NONE

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business to conduct, Commissioner Nicholas Moore declared the meeting adjourned at 5:03 p.m.

	Nicholas Moore, President
	Mary M. Rathbone, Vice President
	Shelly Rivard Detrick, Secretary
ATTEST:	2024
David Lanman – Executive Director	